David P. McGinnis Ph.D.


  • BL Monitor and Control AB 1-May-2021 to present - Lund, Sweden
    • Co-founder
  • MAX IV Laboratory 9-April-2018 to present - Lund, Sweden
    • Research Engineer / RF Group / Accelerator Division
    • RF Group Leader / Accelerator Division
  • European Spallation Source 1-Sep-2011 to 19-Mar-2018 - Lund, Sweden
    • Senior Accelerator Advisor / Accelerator Division
    • Chief Engineer / Accelerator Division
    • Radio Frequency Group Leader / Accelerator Division
  • Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory 6-Jun-1988 to 7-Aug-2011 - Batavia, IL
    • Scientist with the Proton Source
    • Instrument Scientist with the 21cm Project
    • Project X Initial Concept Project Leader
    • Large Hadron Collider at Fermilab Accelerator Software Project Leader
    • Associate Accelerator Division Head for Systems, Integration, and Operations
    • Run II Upgrades Technical Manager
    • Antiproton Source Department Head
    • Scientist with the Beams Division Luminosity Upgrade Group
    • Proton Source Department Head
    • Booster Synchrotron Department Head
    • Fermilab Linac Accelerator Upgrade Commissioner
    • RF engineer for the Main Accelerator Department
    • Microwave Electrical Engineer with the Fermilab Antiproton Source.
  • University of Wisconsin 1-May-1987 to 1-May-1988 - Madison, WI
    • Post-Doctoral Research Associate in the area of superconducting RF devices.

Teaching Experience


  • European Spallation Source Accelerator Division Chief Engineer
    Led the redesign of the ESS linac in 2012-2014 to reduce the cost of the linac by 75 million Euros. The redesign now forms the new baseline of the ESS accelerator complex.
  • American Physical Society Fellow
    Elected in 2003 for important contributions in increasing the performance of the Fermilab Accelerator complex
  • Scientist III
    Promoted in 2008 for “for sustained leadership and fundamental technical contributions in achieving full realization of the performance potential of the Tevatron Collider and for leadership in identifying future options for development of the Fermilab accelerator complex.” Scientist III is the highest tenured level at Fermilab and is equivalent to the tenure level of a full professor.
  • Instrument Scientist with the 21cm Project Led the Fermilab effort in the 21 cm Cylindrical Radio Telescope Collaboration charged with developing instrument requirements and design.
  • Project X
    Conceived the initial fundamental concept of the Fermilab Project X which is a superconducting linac based on ILC technology.
  • Associate Accelerator Division Head
    In charge of systems, integration, and operations of the Fermilab accelerator complex. Supervisor of seven systems department heads that oversees the activities of approximately 150 people. In charge of day-to-day operations of the Accelerator complex. Oversaw a factor of three increase in total integrated, weekly integrated and peak luminosity from June 2003-June 2005. Member of the machine advisory committees for LHC, ILC, RHIC, and LANSCE
  • Run II Upgrades Technical Manager Technical architect of the Run II upgrades. The project will last about four years and will involve 60 full time staff members. The total project cost is estimated at about $30 million.
  • Fermilab Antiproton Source Department Head The Antiproton Source Department was the largest source of antiprotons in the world. The source consisted of two synchrotrons each with a circumference of 500 meters. The source also contained 10 microwave stochastic cooling systems with a total bandwidth spanning 1-8 GHz. Responsible for supervising a staff of 20 people which included eight Ph.D’s. Oversaw the commissioning of the Antiproton Source for Run II. Invented the concept of the shot lattice and the 4-8 GHz transverse core cooling upgrade for a two-fold increase in beam brightness. Developed numerous instrumentation systems including antiproton closure systems for the Debuncher, Accumulator, and Tevatron.
  • Fermilab Proton Source Department Head The Proton Source Department is responsible for one third of all the accelerators at Fermilab. These accelerators include a 130 meter long, 400 MeV LINAC with a pulsed RF power output of 110 megawatts, and an 8 GeV rapid cycling synchrotron that is 475 meters in circumference. The department head is responsible for supervising a staff of 34 people, which includes six Ph.D’s and six M.S.E.E’s. The annual budget of the Proton Source Department is over two million dollars in materials and services.
  • RF and Microwave Engineering at Fermilab
    • Project leader for the Run II Accumulator 4-8 GHz Transverse Stochastic Cooling Upgrade.
    • Conceived, designed, and oversaw the construction and commissioning of the Debuncher 4-8 GHz Stochastic Cooling Upgrade. Invented the concept of slotted waveguide slow-wave arrays to couple to the antiproton beam.
    • Designed, constructed, and commissioned all the beam stabilization systems for the 1996-1997 Fermilab Fixed Target Run. - Employee Recognition Award on August 8, 1997 for work related to the 1996 Fixed Target Dampers.
    • Introduced the concept using narrowband dampers for the Fermilab Booster. Designed and commissioned the Fermilab Booster narrow band damper system.
    • Project leader of the Antiproton Source Stochastic Cooling Stack-Tail Upgrade. Invented the concept of planar loops.
    • Project leader for the Debuncher Stochastic Cooling Transverse Aperture Upgrade


  • Doctor of Philosophy in Electrical Engineering 30-May-1987
    University of Wisconsin-Madison
    Research in the area of superconducting RF devices. Research for the thesis involved the fabrication of integrated superconducting Josephson Junction VFT circuits for use in a millimeter-wave distributed amplifier circuit
  • Masters of Science in Electrical Engineering 31-Dec-1984
    University of Wisconsin-Madison
    Report topic: The Superconducting Vortex Flow Transistor.
  • Masters of Science in Physics 31-May 1983
    University of Illinois-Urbana
  • Bachelors of Science in General Engineering - Secondary field: Physics 31-May-1982
    University of Illinois-Urbana


  • Frank Rogers Bacon Fellowship (Wisconsin)
  • Hartman Fellowship Award (Cornell)
  • Graduation with Highest Honors (Illinois)
  • University Honors - Bronze Tablet (Illinois)
  • Edmund J. James Scholar (Illinois)


Conference Proceedings